Skip to main content

Schools (Local Offer)

The Local Offer includes schools in and around Sheffield. The school listings include links to the school websites. You can find out how they can meet the needs of children with SEND.

You can narrow down your search for schools using the search options above or the filters on the left.


Schools are divided into two categories.


Primary schools are schools for children between the ages of 4 and 11.
In Sheffield, there are also infant schools for children between 4 and 7, and junior schools for children between the ages of 7 and 11.
Some primary schools also have a nursery or pre-school for children from the age of 2 or 3. Details about nurseries or pre-schools are in the Childcare section of the Local Offer website.


Secondary schools are schools for children between the ages of 11 and 16.
Some secondary schools also have a sixth form for young people from the age of 16 to 18.
Colleges for young people leaving school at 16 are in the Transition into Adulthood section of the Local Offer website.



Once you have chosen the category of school you are interested in, you can refine your search using filters.

Local Offer age bands

Early years (0-4 years)

The early years age band includes schools which have a nursery or pre-school.

Primary (4-10 years)

The primary age band includes infant, junior and primary schools.

Secondary (11-16 years)

The secondary age band includes secondary schools with or without a sixth form.

Transitions to adulthood (16+)

The transitions to adulthood age band includes colleges and schools with a sixth form.


Local Offer provision type


These are schools and colleges for children with SEND who have an EHC plan. They include integrated resources within mainstream schools and special schools as well as specialist independent schools.


These are mainstream schools for children of all abilities, including those with SEND. They include state schools and independent (private) schools.
Independent schools can be selective, which means they can set their own entry requirements. Selective independent schools are listed under universal provision, unless they are a specialist school.



Here schools select their relevant special needs experience.
If a school selects any of the 16 conditions listed, it means that it has some experience of that condition. Staff may have training on the condition or they may teach students with the condition.


Section 41 Schools

These are independent special schools throughout England and Wales which can be named on an EHC Plan. Click on the link to Section 41 schools for more details.

More events and service for children and young people with special educational needs and disabilities.

Back to top Contact US
Powered by Open Objects © Open Objects Software Limited